Swiss Chard Rolls

Cabbage Rolls are pretty common here. People either love them or hate them. I hate them. Not the meat part just the cabbage. Cooked cabbage is one of the nastiest things I’ve ever been forced to eat in my life. Seriously. It smells like sewage to me. Put it in a pot of vegetable soup and it will ruin the whole thing for me. Just like licorice does. I can taste even the most minute traces of it in a tea blend. Gross. I digress.

We have newly discovered Swiss Chard. We tried it for the first time last Summer. I purchased it from the farmers market. When I asked for a recipe recommendation the farmer said,”I chop it up and saute it with onions and bacon.” Which is delicious. Bacon makes everything better. So I went in search of other recipes to use it in. My husband had been asking for cabbage rolls like his grandmother’s. Sorry, no cooked cabbage in this house.

In a flash of inspiration I thought I’d try it with the chard leaves. Bingo.

So here’s the recipe I came up with.

  • Bundle fresh Swiss Chard, washed, stems chopped
  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1lb Italian sausage
  • 1 egg
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1/4 C bread crumbs
  • 1 large can tomato sauce, or home canned if you have it

Preheat oven to 400°. Blanch the chard leaves in a large pot of water for 2 minutes. Set aside. Mix the chard stems and the next five ingredients together in a bowl. Begin making meatballs with the meat mixture. Place one ball inside each chard leaf and roll up. Place in a 9×13 baking dish. Pour tomato sauce over top. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the temperature of the meat tests 170°.

I served this with green beans from the garden. My husband requested mashed potatoes as a side next time.

Image

2 thoughts on “Swiss Chard Rolls

  1. Megan

    Wow I love this! I might even eat Swiss Chard if I make it! funny thing is…I just posted on my blog how I don’t like swiss chard…lol.

    Reply
  2. Dawn

    I’ve made your recipe before and somehow missed the tomato part. We love it sans sauce. It is truly yummy. Thank you for the timely reminder to get some chard bought!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

