Home Made Insect Repellant

If you are like me and have sensitive skin or a small child or simply don’t want to use chemical insect repellants, it is easy to make your own.

I used essential oils to create my own blend. I gave it a hard core test right off the bat. We were in a hay field watching fire works. All three of us used it. My daughter and I did not get a single bite. My husband got two. I’d call that success! Since he is normally eaten alive.

Here is the recipe I used:

  • 1 cup coconut oil, melted<—-It is so hot in my house that it was already melted at room temperature.
  • 12 drops citronella essential oil
  • 6 drops cedarwood essential oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract <— home made

Put into a spray bottle and shake well. Spray onto hands and apply to the desired exposed body parts. Avoid the face though so it won’t run into eyes.

3 thoughts on “Home Made Insect Repellant

  1. jana

    we have had a terrible season for ants. wondering if there is anything I can put down on dirt that will kill them. have tried all the sprays I can. gone for awhile but come back. they are the tiny black ants that I have all over my backyard. can you help? thanks, jana

    Reply
    1. tiffibug Post author

      You could try a couple different things. First I would try cornmeal. Find the ant hill, knock the top off and pour cornmeal on it. Then pour water over it. Or do the same but with diatomaceous earth.

      Reply
  2. jana

    thanks for the help. i’m going to try this. but first I have to find the hole. they are all around the hose area where there’s a few large rocks. will probably get bit by a hundred ants before I find it. jana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

