Gardening in 2013

It’s off to a good start. I have tomato, basil, cucumber and squash seedlings in pots. They are growing, biding their time until it is warm enough to plant them in the ground. Just two more weeks before it’s safe here.

In the ground I have planted spinach, kale, Swiss chard, lettuce, onions, sugar snap peas and green beans. The greens and onions are all coming up. They look great so far. When I checked yesterday there were two or three peas popping up too. I’ll get some posts or large twigs to make a trellis for the peas to climb.

The bulbs I planted have come up and most have bloomed already. I forgot the names of some things, silly me, I didn’t label them when I planted them. There are hyacinths, Jonquils, Snowdrops, Scilla, and Crocuses. The Peony I planted last year has come up this week. I hope it blooms this year. It was too stressed last year to bloom.

Image

This is a lovely pink hyacinth. It is Phoebe’s favorite. I prefer the blue. The scent of the blue hyacinth just says “Spring” to me. The pink has a slightly different scent.

Image

I am taking the Master Gardener course through the Extension Service. I plan to post some things I’ve learned so far. Like why my compost pile is not working. 🙂

Leave a Reply

