Watermelon Mojito

I had a dream recently that I had a drink called a Watermelon Mojito. It was delicious! I looked it up in my bartender’s guide when I woke up, but it wasn’t in there. So I kept thinking about it, wondering of it really would be just as tasty in real life.

So I tried it the other day. 🙂 Here’s the recipe I came up with:

Juice of fresh watermelon
Handful of fresh mint, spearmint and/or peppermint
1 shot clear rum
2 Tbsp sugar
Key Lime juice
tonic water

Place mint in a glass with the sugar. Use a muddler or the back of a spoon to crush the mint. Add the rum and lime juice. Fill glass half way with watermelon juice. Top off with tonic water. Garnish with a sprig of mint.

I used both peppermint and spearmint because I grow both. Next time I will try some of my pineapple mint to see how it tastes. If you don’t have tonic water you can use seltzer or even Sprite or Sierra Mist, although they would change the flavor a bit.

One thought on “Watermelon Mojito

  1. Dana

    Hmm that sounds like a good enough reason to get together right??? I'm curious and we should test out your recipe, lol!!!Like we need a reason to get together!! Although that does sound pretty tasty!!Dana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

